Which Car stereo to buy? In my opinion

Receive step by step assistance on completing various parts of your replica by following the guides here!

Donator: Yes

Which Car stereo to buy? In my opinion

Postby stillgrowingup » Tue Mar 03, 2015 5:43 pm

I have looked into replacing my radio within my KITT. I came up with a few choices. In my heart, I still believe I am a stereo installer, even though I am doing much much more now. I did 12v car electronics for 18yrs!

One thing I noticed is that easily identified as reputable car audio manufactures NO LONGER offer single DIN sized radios with video incorporated. JVC, Kenwood, Alpine, Pioneer, Clarion to name a few. So other manufactures have to be looked at, BOSS, Jensen, Audiovox, Planet Audio and Fusion. Even though these brands could be considered FLEA-Market/Swap-Meet brands. My experience has proven to me that they are still reliable, when you get their higher models.

My number one pick is BOSS BV7948B. It is last year 2014 top of line model for Single Din by BOSS. You will have to do a google search to find a retailer with in-stock to sell. Price is about $110 to $140.

Website: http://www.bossaudio.com/auto/car-video ... o-bv7948b/

Why I picked this model? It offers:

Bluetooth audio sync and music controls
DVD player - DVD±R/RW
Built-in 5-band EQ (Non-Adjustable ONLY Treble and Bass is adjustable)
Plays video (VCD, WMA, MP4, JPEG) straight from SD card or USB memory stick
Plays MP4/MP3 audio though DVD/CD/USB/SD
6 5/8" Mounting depth (We don't have much room in our consoles for deep radio and a lot of wires)
Front (on faceplate) and Rear USB ports
Auxiliary Audio/Video inputs (in front faceplate ONLY)
Backup camera Input - Eliminates need for video switcher for KITT monitors
2 volt audio Preouts - Front, Rear & Sub
Does NOT have Subwoofer volume Preout can be adjusted separately and has built in Subwoofer frequency crossover
Best of all!!! 2 video outputs for EACH S1/S2 dash monitor